Testimonials

Read Kassie E.‘s review of Onyx Salon on Yelp

Read Jessica R.‘s review of Onyx Salon on Yelp

Read Natalia M.‘s review of Onyx Salon on Yelp

Read Mari M.‘s review of Onyx Salon on Yelp

Reviews
Best experience I have ever received at a salon. The staff here treats you as their house guest and make you feel welcome. I have gone here twice now and absolutely trust this business with my hair. They know just how meet expectations and go above and beyond the customers needs. You should really check out this salon. It’s worth the time!

Yelp-Reviews
Posted on 11/04/2014

Reviews
KRIS ESTRADA IS AWESOME!! HIGHLY RECOMM END!! I came here yesterday for my first visit to Onyx Salon, and it was a great experience!! When I walked in, the receptionist was busy taking care of a client, but the owner of the salon, Pamela, came over to greet me & offer me a cup of tea or coffee. Great customer service!!! It’s just so nice to see the staff working as a team!! The salon is very clean, and stocked with tons of Bumble & Bumble hair products, which I love!
I didn’t have to wait long at all to meet Kris Estrada; I had an appt at 915am and I was seen on time. It was my first time to see her, and just speaking with her after 5-10 minutes, I knew I was in good hands. She’s very pleasant, down-to-earth, and very knowledgeable. I love the long layers she created for me!! She listened to what I wanted, and it was on the money!! I’m looking forward to seeing her again!! Thanks Kris for a great haircut!! Looking forward to celebrating my wedding anniversary & my birthday with my new cut!! And, t hanks for the fun conversations about New York!! She made me smile & laugh so much about my hometown, NYC ? Great hair stylist!! You won’t go wrong with Kris!!

Yelp-Reviews
10/25/2014

Reviews
I was recently here on Friday. It was my first time here and I must say, it was worth every penny. I have really thick and curly hair that I wasnt too sure how it would turn. I got a ombre from stefanie i must say she is a miracle worker! Will def come back.

Yelp-Reviews
Posted on 9/13/2014

Reviews
This was my first time coming in and I don’t regret it one bit. I knew I wanted to reduce the amount of hair I had and wanted a little bit of length removed too. After explaining all of this to Yasamine during our consultation she made it happen. She recommended some long layers and to cut off a few inches from the bottom, just enough to keep my long length. From the moment I stepped in to the salon I was treated wonderfully too. The receptionist was super sweet and offered me a beverage in the few minutes before my appointment. And Yasamine took the time to get my haircut just right and finalized it with some loose curls to put it all together!! If you want great service and professionalism, book an appointment with the wonderful Yasamine!! I’m also glad they called me a few days before the appointment to confirm, which made me feel truly valued!

Yelp-Reviews
8/31/2014

Reviews
After years of searching and trying dozens of bay area salons I have finally found a winner. Great salon with super friendly staff, everyone was terrific. I got a cut and color with Shawn Carrington and she is fabulous. She has a wonderful warm caring personality and really works magic to get the best out of your hair. I absolutely love my hair and have received so many compliments. I highly recommend her and encourage anyone looking for a new salon to try Shawn and Onyx, you won’t be disappointed.

Yelp-Reviews
8/28/2014

Reviews
My stylist Christina did an amazing job! I was very impressed that the color lasted forever. Which is pretty great—since getting your hair colored is not cheap. Onyx salon is a great salon and my stylist is very good at her job. She is amazing and I am very happy she is my stylist.

Yelp-Reviews
8/21/2014

Reviews
Christina Perez is the best! I have been coming here for about a year and have referred this place to anyone looking to get their hair done. I used to have brown boring hair and Christina has done a beautiful sombre and ombre and highlights on different occasions. She has been doing hair for over a decade and knows what she’s doing. The customer service is great and there is also an online portal to book your appointments.

Yelp-Reviews
8/14/2014

Reviews
Booked an appointment late Friday night for Saturday morning and saw Stephanie – a wonderful stylist with an epic sense of humor. Got a wash and style I love for $50 bucks in an estimated 30 min. My new do will be good for 3-4 days #lovesit

Yelp-Reviews
6/01/2014

Reviews
CHERYL!!! She is AMAAAAAZING! So sweet and personable and on top of that, what an amazing stylist!

This was my first visit to the salon and I went in for partial highlights and a cut. I knew I wanted natural looking highlights and of ALL the stylists I’ve gone to see prior, no one has ever taken the initiative to think outside of the box and offer a different way to achieve what I was looking for. Cheryl took a totally different approach to highlights and gave me a ‘soft ombré’ rather than standard highlights that start at the roots. It looks incredible and is exactly what I was looking for. I didn’t even know that’s what I was trying to achieve until she suggested it! And the cut is perfect!

The salon overall was incredible as well. Front desk women were beyond sweet, always checking to make sure I was comfortable. Actually, several different members of the team walked passed me at different points and asked if I wanted something to drink! What a great experience! Thanks ladies!

Yelp-Reviews
5/22/2014

Reviews
LOVE ONYX!!! Super clean and friendly! A chic salon that will make sure you are comfortable and relaxed! You can make your appointment online too which is a great feature!!!

LOVE Michelle!!! Whether its highlights or ombre, I always get tons of compliments! All thanks to her! When I first started seeing her she fixed my at home dye job…and I was hooked! Never picking up the bottle again! Her cuts are always really cute too! Knowledgeable and skillful Michelle is a must se e at ONYX!

Yelp-Reviews
4/16/2014

Reviews
I created a Yelp account just for this place. I always Yelp places before I visit so I am grateful for the great reviews for Onyx Salon. This place is great! In general they are clean, modern, chic, and have a friendly staff. As soon as I walked in I felt the love! They offered me coffee right away and payed my meter while I was in the chair. The staff was smiling and very genuine.

Now to Brittni, she is great!!! She is had a lot of knowledge about color and had some great suggestions. She is younger, as am I so we got along. She talked to me as if we knew each other. She kept it real and she definitely knows what she is doing.I absolutely LOVE the results of my hair! I went from brunette to a honey and Brittni is working with me to go lighter. I was so nervous but Brittni made me feel like I was in good hands and she listened to what I actually wanted.

I recommend Onyx Salon! Go! Take a risk!

Yelp-Reviews
3/28/2014

Reviews
I’m new to Onyx as my old salon closed; Once again, I didn’t know what I was going to do, however, Onyx called me to let me know my stylist, Brooke Kent, had taken residence there…I was never more happy!!! I have been there once now and found this salon to be top notch. Very professional and helpful operations staff, the apprentices are highly attentive and they have the best team of stylists on the SF Peninsula.

Yelp-Reviews
3/26/2014

Reviews
Hello yelpers! I highly recommend Onyx Salon in Burlingame for your hair needs. Especially stylist KRIS ESTRADA!! She is amazing.

I have not had my hair done in a salon in years, partly because I had a horrible experience that I paid $100+ for (at a salon in silver dale, wa) and I have a young daughter and don’t have much time to myself to get my hair did ? My daughter started preschool and I now have 3 hours to myself 2 days a week. What will I do with ALL this time (lol) ???

I was referred to Kris by a number of my girlfriends in Pacifica. I decided to call her and set up an appointment. I really needed to cover a little gray, and lighten my color a bit and fix my bangs. The salon was flexible with my (and daughters) schedule. I had a small time slot, and they worked with it. I was able to get in the next day!!

Arrived with my normal messy bun, thrown up running out the door hair. I was in need of some serious hair help. Kris suggested partial highlights in the front to slowly lighten my dark hair, she said this highlight would not give me that “grow out” look and were a lower maintenance highlight. My cut was great. My bangs looked banging and I couldn’t be happier.

Yelp-Reviews
11/08/2013

Reviews
This review is for Shawn! I came to the salon nervous and walked out happy and confident. You see, for the past three years I have been thinking of cutting my hair short but never got the courage to actually show up for my appointment. Sorry, I’m just a nervous wreck when it comes to my hair!
Fast forward, she explained her step by step process and expressed how short I should cut my hair. I took her advice and I am glad that I did. My hair feels great and it is long enough that I can tie my hair when I want to.

Thank you Shawn.

Yelp-Reviews
7/31/2013